The Templeton Freedom Award

Applications for the 2014 Templeton Freedom Award are now closed.

The deadline for this award was May 16, 2014. Stay tuned for next year.

Named for the late investor and philanthropist Sir John Templeton, the Templeton Freedom Award annually honors his legacy by identifying and recognizing the most exceptional and innovative contributions to the understanding of free enterprise, and the public policies that encourage prosperity, innovation and human fulfillment via free competition. Since 2013 the award is made possible through support from the Templeton Religion Trust.

To be considered for the 2014 Templeton Freedom Award, organizations must complete this full Application Form. While we are happy to receive applications that focus on long-running projects, our judges will prioritize those applications that can document impact that has been achieved within the last two years. As such, eligible think tanks compete on the basis of whether one of its specific projects (or its larger body of work) has a demonstrable and measurable impact in the following areas:

• Achieved strategic impact (in areas of policy impact, social impact, academic impact, media impact, student impact, etc.).
• Made innovative contributions to the field of free enterprise education and policy research.
• Laid the groundwork for future progress in improving countries’ scores in rankings of economic freedom (e.g., The Index of Economic Freedom or the Economic Freedom of the World report).

The winner of the 2014 Templeton Freedom Award will receive $100,000 and be honored at the Atlas Freedom Dinner, which will next be held in New York City on November 13, 2014. Additional finalists will receive $5,000 prizes and travel support to attend the Atlas Liberty Forum and Freedom Dinner on November 12-13.

The deadline to apply is May 16, 2014.

Please send backup material and/or attachments that support the impact of your project (or overall body of work) by email to Gonzalo Schwarz:
Subject Line: TFA Nomination / Name of your organization

or by Regular Mail to:

Atlas Network
Attn: Mr. Gonzalo Schwarz
Director of Grants and Awards
1201 L Street, NW, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20005
United States

Questions about the award? Contact

Click here to see an archive of past winners.

To learn more about Atlas, watch this short video.

10 Responses to “The Templeton Freedom Award”

  1. [...] Liberty Forum will take place at the Crowne Plaza Time Square from Tuesday, November 8 to Wednesday, November 9, 2011. The program will feature Steve Forbes, Judy Shelton and the former deputy prime minister of Poland Leszek Balcerowicz, among others and the recognition of the winners of the Templeton Freedom Awards. [...]

  2. [...] International’s Chinese partners, the Transition Institute, has been awarded the prestigious Templeton Freedom Award for Excellence in Promoting Liberty. Named after the late investor and philanthropist Sir John Templeton, the Templeton Freedom Award [...]

  3. [...] 2011 TFA Winners, 2010 TFA Winners, 2009 TFA Winners, 2008 TFA Winners – (2004-2007 winners) [...]

  4. [...] on Crime, a project of the Texas Public Policy Foundation, has been chosen as a finalist for their 2013 Templeton Freedom Award. The prestigious award is given to think tanks around the world that have made an impact in public [...]

  5. [...] global recognition for the TPA After winning the Atlas Network’s Templeton Freedom Award in New York last November for our work on tax reform, we are delighted to have been recognised by [...]

  6. [...] Templeton Freedom Award [...]